I am not a journalist; I am a blogger.

 

I’d like to be a critic, a journalist, a professional; but alas for the time being, I am simply me.  That’s why if I enter some sort of contest to win something from a publisher, it isn’t considered an issue.  Though my ego says otherwise; my support has no pull, and masses of people don’t look to me for any sort of guidance in their purchasing decisions.  Conversely, there are those who do have that sort of pull on public opinion and thought.  That’s why this image garnered so much attention…

 

 

 

That’s Geoff Keighley, respected face of the games industry….surrounded by Mountain Dew and Doritos.  To say that people were upset by this would be an understatement.  There were cries for his head, because he had finally “sold out,” and that his credibility as a journalist has now been shot to shreds.  People were calling out how “buddy buddy” journalists and advertisers had become, and questioned their objectivity and their ability to do to their jobs properly.

 

The fact is, these questions should be asked; yet we need to make sure we are asking the right people.  Geoff Keighley is not a journalist; not anymore at least.  He has become more of a “personality,” in the industry.  Because of his status he is able to do certain things that some journalists cannot; like his Last Hours segments, but that is only a small part of his career now.  We shouldn’t be attacking Geoff over this type of issue; it’s not his problem anymore.  These are the types of questions you need to be asking the websites, publications, and magazines you read regularly; the ones you seek guidance from.  Suffice it to say; keep those you trust accountable.

 

There will always be something like this happening.  Advertising runs the world, and so there will always be a question of how much of an effect does that have on the piece you are reading.  Honestly, the best way to do this is to learn the people behind the work; learn to trust the reviewer, not the outlet.  No matter who they are working for; when I see a review or commentary by guys like Garnett Lee, John Davidson, or Arthur Geis, I know what I am getting and I know that I can trust their opinion.  They’ve earned it.

 

All that to say; I enjoy a good Mountain Dew and I think Geoff Keighley does good work, when he does it.  Yet; we should not hold people to certain standards when they do not apply to them.  That sort of thinking ends up hurting more people than helping them.

Dew or Dew Not…

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

